Lakeside Talks 2011

Highlights of LAKESIDE TALKS Bohemian Grove July 16 to August 1, 2010 (taken directly from the Bohemian Grove Program of Events: Midsummer Encampment 2010)

Friday, July 16: WALTER CRONKITE¹S AMERICA:
Douglas Brinkley, Historian at Rice University

Saturday, July 17: THE SUPREME COURT IN THE AGE OF OBAMA:
Jeffrey Toobin, Legal Analyst and Author, CNN & The New Yorker

Sunday, July 18: THE OBAMA ADMINISTRATION AT WAR:
David Martin, National Security Correspondent for CBS News

Wednesday, July 21: HOW SHOULD WE THINK ABOUT CHINA: PARTNER, COMPETITOR,
THREAT? Michail Armacost, former Ambassador

Friday, July 23: K‹12: EDUCATION IN AMERICA:
Joel Klein, Chancellor, N.Y. City Dept. of Education

Saturday, July 24: THE FUTURE OF NEWS:
Rupert Murdoch, CEO of News Corporation

Sunday, July 25: THE REVENGE OF GOD: RELIGION & VIOLENCE IN THE MODERN WORLD: Reza Aslan, Professor/Author, University of California at Riverside

Monday, July 26: VENTURE PHILANTHROPY ­ ANDREW CARNEGIE 2.0:
John Wood, Founder: Room to Read

Tuesday, July 27: CULTURAL DIPLOMACY:
Dr. Gary Smith, Executive Director of American Academy in Berlin

Wednesday, July 28: DEFEATING IEDs AS A WEAPON OF STRATEGIC INFLUENCE:
Thomas Metz, Lt. General, U.S. Army (retired)

Thursday, July 29: THE FOUR MOST IMPORTANT WORDS IN ECONOMICS: PEOPLE RESPOND TO INCENTIVES: Arthur Laffer, Economist

Friday, July 30: TO BE ANNOUNCED:
California Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger

Saturday, July 31: WHY IS MARS SO IMPORTANT?:
Michael Malin, Planetary Geologist
COUNTDOWN FOR AMERICA:
David Gergen, Statesman (their title)

Democrats, Republicans mingle in Bohemian Grove
Column by Willie Brown San Francisco Chronicle August 1, 2010
It’s Bohemian Grove time, and once again power boys were up at the Russian River last week. Former Florida Gov. Jeb Bush, a Republican and possible presidential contender, predicted a GOP takeover of the House. MSNBC’s Chris Matthews, a liberal sharing the talk with Jeb, agreed. Don’t think the Grove gathering has lost its clout. Three former secretaries of state – Colin Powell, James Baker and Henry Kissinger – were spotted talking together. Condoleezza Rice would have fit right in, except they don’t allow women.